Taking the easy way out

My boss was talking about my surgery recently (before I actually had it) in a tone I didn’t appreciate. He voiced that he doesn’t think that I have the discipline to lose weight. He thinks that I have not put enough effort into diet and exercise to be taking such a drastic step. According to him, I would need to perform a lifestyle change, and if I am not willing to make the change, I will not be successful. Now, I agree with that 100%, but the tone of voice that he takes makes me think that he doesn’t believe that I can actually do it.

He keeps asking me, “Well, do you go to the gym 4 times a week like I do? Do you not eat starches? Because I don’t eat any starches.” He’s just pointing out to me all the things that I need to do in order to lose weight, and telling me that if I do all these things, then I don’t need the surgery.

I kind of get where he’s coming from, but I don’t agree with his point. I’ve had this problem all my life and I’m going to do what’s right for me. His insistence upon this point still just bothers me, though, because it goes back to his overall impression of me—my personality and what I’m about. He obviously thinks that I only ever look at short term goals and never long term ones, especially since he said in my review that I always make decisions based on fixing the problem for today and never fixing the problem permanently and that I to take the easy way out.

This entry was posted in Career, Weight Loss Surgery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking the easy way out

  1. Having surgery after thoughtfully considering your options is not taking the easy way out!! You are taking charge and making some pretty big lifestyle changes. Congratulations. And tell your boss to back off (I know, easier said than done…)!

  2. Danielle says:

    Someone on VST put forth a good response to this type of attitude. She said “can you hold your breath for a minute? Sure. Can you hold your breath for the rest of your life?” I like that. It’s a pretty accurate depiction of what went on in my head anyway. When I was on 2 weeks of pre op liquids, my husband asked why I can’t just go on doing that instead of getting the surgery. (He was genuinely curious, not antagonistic). I gave him a similar answer to the holding your breath example. I could only do it because I knew help was on the way. People that don’t have our issues to deal with don’t and will never understand why don’t/can’t “just do it.”

    OH, and that jab in your review??? The nerve!! Make him give you SPECIFIC examples of how you’ve done that in your job, without reference to your personal life! I bet he won’t come up with ONE!

Leave a Reply

